Moonrise collage by Deborah Eater

Just in Time for ‘Fright’

I did the study for my most recent collage more than a year ago but it languished untouched while I worked on a million other things.

After I finished ‘Torments,’ the collage I originally planned for the ‘Fright’ exhibit, I thought I just might have time to get a second entry ready for the show.  I remembered the study I’d done earlier.  I had always been rather pleased with it and it had just the right tone, so I decided to go for it.

I was leery because of my experience with the last show (when I finished framing ‘Sunbather’ a mere 1/2 hour before they stopped accepting entries), but that still-fresh experience also had me prepped to work steadily without getting bogged down in details or stalled by self-doubt.  I had a moment, when all I had left was to finish the tree, where I was afraid I’d ruined it.  Fortunately I was able to backtrack and pull out of it.

In the end, I’m so glad I attempted it.  Pushing to finish it on time helped me improve my process — from where I set up to the order in which I tackled challenges – in ways that I’m very hopeful will increase my productivity if I can keep them up.  Even more importantly, I liked this second piece much better that the one I intended for the show all along.

The ‘Fright’ exhibit is on display at the Centre for the Arts at 308 Mill Street in Bristol, PA only until Friday, October 30.

Leave a Reply

