pencil sketch by Deborah Eater

Pencil Practice

A few months ago I began a portrait-a-day routine on small 2.5″ x 3.5″ cards.  We’ll not discuss how many days it lasted, although I’m proud to report that I did maintain the discipline through at least one day of formal vacation from the studio.  Anyhow it’s been a while and I felt the need to get back in practice, so I found a model in the pages of the Penn Stater magazine and took up pencil and paper.

My subject was Meya Bizer, a member of the 2015 women’s rugby team at Pennsylvania State University, my undergraduate alma mater. I chose her for a portrait because I liked her features and facial expression.  She looks like an open, unpretentious sort of person.

Leave a Reply

